Valerie Finnis / RHS Lindley Collections


The biennial Finnis Scott Botanical Art Prize was established using funds raised from the sale of a painting formerly owned by Sir David and Lady Scott. The Trustees felt there was a role for a prize dedicated to botanical art. Applications for the £10,000 prize are judged by a panel of experts.

Valerie Finnis / RHS Lindley Collections

Prize Criteria

The Finnis Scott Botanical Art Prize is intended to support and promote collaborative botanical art projects in the UK and Ireland.

The prize is awarded biennially. It is aimed at groups and organisations which are looking to go beyond their day-to-day activities, and recognises those which have helped to raise the profile of botanical art. Projects might include (but are not limited to) a new education programme or the development of an existing course, exhibition, publication, event or collaborative project.


Prizes are awarded to UK and Irish botanical art groups and organisations, not to individuals. Regional and national botanical art societies, florilegium groups, independent courses, affiliated groups and other community organisations associated with teaching or promoting botanical art may apply. Preference will be given to independent organisations and charities.


To qualify, applicants must demonstrate a recent record of achievement in promoting botanical art to the satisfaction of the judges. The judges will consider the success of previous initiatives, including budget allocation, project planning and delivery, and audience engagement, as part of the application for the Prize.

The judges are looking to reward fresh ideas, original projects and new ways of working.

A shortlist of potential candidates will be confirmed in early spring 2024, with the winning project being announced in April.

The successful candidate will be asked to keep in touch with the Administrator regarding the progress of the winning project. A report should be submitted by a date agreed with the Trustees, not more than 2 years from the date of the Prize being awarded.

Valerie Finnis / RHS Lindley Collections

Applications are open

Deadline: 31 January 2024

Please contact the Administrator before making an application:

Apply Now

Valerie Finnis / RHS Lindley Collections